Over 30 states have established state historic tax credits to provide additional financial incentives for the rehabilitation of historic properties. Most of the state programs are based on the federal historic rehabilitation tax credit program, although application processes, award amounts, and award procedures vary by state.

State historic tax credits can be used in conjunction with the federal credits for income-producing properties. Although MHA focuses on income-producing historic rehabilitations, many state programs also offer historic tax credits for rehabilitation of owner-occupied residential properties.


State historic tax credit programs

  • Alabama

  • Arkansas

  • Colorado

  • Connecticut

  • Delaware

  • Georgia

  • Hawaii

  • Illinois

  • Indiana

  • Iowa

  • Kansas

  • Kentucky

  • Louisiana

  • Maine

  • Maryland

  • Massachusetts

  • Minnesota

  • Mississippi

  • Missouri

  • Montana

  • Nebraska

  • New Mexico

  • New York

  • North Carolina

State historic Tax Credit News